Rule discussion from local PBA League

Posted by: Dennis Michael

Rule discussion from local PBA League - 08/24/09 09:07 AM

Rule 9, 1 says: If more than one player on the same team bowls on the wrong lane in turn, that game will be completed without adjustment. Any succeeding game must be started on the correctly scheduled lane.

Situation: Bowler 1 bowled on the wrong lane. Bowler 2 followed on the wrong lane. Then the error was noticed. This rule was pulled out.

All agreed that the results of the 2 bowlers would stand and not have to be re-bowled. But, the discussion centered around where the 3rd bowler was to bowl.

The discussion was over the phrase, "that game will be completed without adjustment."

Does this mean, completed without adjusting the original 2 bowler's scores?
Or, does this mean all succeeding bowlers must bowl on the wrong lane for the completion of the game?
2 Officials differed on the quoted rule.
Official 1 said the third bowler must follow on the wrong lane and the team is to continue bowling on the wrong lanes until the completion of the game.

Official 2 said the third bowler was to bowl on the correct lane and the results of the first 2 bowlers were to stand as bowled.
Posted by: dmoney298

Re: Rule discussion from local PBA League - 08/24/09 09:19 AM

I can see the confusion because the rule is not worded very well. But I would think that you would bowl on the correct lane after the first two bowled on the wrong lane. Otherwise you would be doing a score correction after every bowler because they are on the wrong lane everytime.
Posted by: cgeorg

Re: Rule discussion from local PBA League - 08/24/09 10:16 AM

So this means that if I bowl on the wrong lane and strike, I need to have the bowler after me hurry up and go before the other team notices...
Posted by: Dennis Michael

Re: Rule discussion from local PBA League - 08/24/09 10:25 AM

You got it.

I have done this before when a weak bowler bowled on wrong lane and struck. I was next, and hurried up.
Posted by: Dennis Michael

Re: Rule discussion from local PBA League - 08/24/09 05:24 PM

OK, so for your info. Should the scenario ever happen to one of you, the correct procedure to follow is that the 3rd bowler continues on the wrong lane, and that continues until the game finishes. The next game starts on the lane that it was originally scheduled.

After a 30 minute discussion, bringing in a third official, and a few phone calls, this was the decision that was put into play.

There was no concern regarding the scoring system, as it seems the rule was initiated when scores were done in pencil.
Posted by: greggas

Re: Rule discussion from local PBA League - 08/25/09 01:14 AM

this is from the rule book, hope it helps:


9. Bowling on Wrong Lane


In league or tournament play, a dead ball shall be called and the player or players required to rebowl on the correct lane when:

a. One player bowls on the wrong lane.

b. One player from each team on the pair of lanes bowls on the wrong lane.



If more than one player on the same team bowls on the wrong lane in turn, all deliveries stand as bowled. Upon discovery, bowlers shall complete subsequent frames on the correct lanes.



In singles match play competition, where a player normally bowls two frames each time it is the player’s turn to bowl, and the player bowls on the wrong lanes, a dead ball shall be called and the player required to rebowl on the correct lanes, providing the error was discovered before the opposing player has made a delivery. Otherwise, the score stands as bowled, with all subsequent frames in the game bowled on the correct lanes.
Posted by: Dennis Michael

Re: Rule discussion from local PBA League - 08/31/09 04:39 AM

greggas, thanks for posting this. This is a change in the new rule book '09, which I was just issued last week, and unfortunately, no one had at the time of discussion.