Ball legality question

Posted by: Tim Gerard

Ball legality question - 10/09/08 09:22 AM

Is it illegal for a thumbless bowler to use a ball with a thumb hole and a weight hole, thus the ball would have 4 holes? This was brought up last night, a bowler was bowling thumbless with a ball with the four holes. Someone said that it was illegal, because in a four hole ball, three holes must be used. He obviously only used the finger holes. I thought it was a little ticky tack, and it was never pressed. Should it have been?
Posted by: cgeorg

Re: Ball legality question - 10/09/08 09:33 AM

Originally Posted By: USBC Rules
Holes:
The following limitations shall govern the drilling of
holes in the ball:
1. Holes or indentations, not to exceed five (5), for
gripping purposes. The player is not required to use
all the holes in any specific delivery, but they must
be able to demonstrate that each hole can reasonably
be used for gripping purposes. Any hole that
cannot be reasonably shown to be used with a single
hand would be classified as a balance hole.
2. One hole for balance purposes not to exceed 1-1/4
inch diameter. (Including the surface opening).
3. No more than one vent hole to each finger and/or
thumb hole not to exceed 1/4 inch in diameter (including
the surface opening). This hole may not exceed
1-1/4 inch at any point through the depth of
the hole.
4. One mill hole for inspection purposes not to exceed
5/8 inch in diameter and 1/8 inch in depth.
Balance:
The following tolerances shall be permissible in the balance
of a bowling ball used in certified competition:
1. 10.01 pounds or more:
a. Not more than 3 ounces difference between top
half of the ball (finger hole side) and the bottom
half (side opposite the finger holes).
b. Not more than 1 ounce difference between the
sides to the right and left of the finger holes or
between the sides in front and back of the finger
holes.
c. Aball drilled without a thumb hole may not have
more than 1 ounce difference between any two
halves of the ball.
d. A ball drilled without any finger holes or indentations,
may not have more than 1 ounce difference
between any two halves of the ball.
e. A ball used without any hole or indentations
may not have more than 1 ounce difference between
any two halves of the ball.
f. Any ball used with a two-handed delivery with
or without holes or indentations may not have
more than 1 ounce difference between any
two halves of the ball.
2. For a ball weighing 10.0 pounds to 8.0 pounds:
a. Not more than 2 ounces difference between top
half of the ball (finger hole side) and the bottom
half (side opposite the finger holes).
b. Not more than 3/4 ounce difference between the
sides to the right and left of the finger holes or
between the sides in front and back of the finger
holes.
c. A ball drilled without a thumb hole may not
have more than 3/4 ounce difference between
any two halves of the ball.
d. A ball drilled without any finger holes or indentations,
may not have more than 3/4 ounce difference
between any two halves of the ball.
e. A ball used without any hole or indentations
may not have more than 3/4 ounce difference
between any two halves of the ball.
f. Any ball used with a two-handed delivery with
or without holes or indentations may not have
more than 3/4 ounce difference between any
two halves of the ball.
3. Less than 8.0 pounds:
a. Not more than 3/4 ounce difference between the
top half of the ball (finger hole side) and the bottom
half (side opposite the finger holes).
b. Not more than 3/4 ounce difference between the
sides to the right and left of the finger holes or
between the sides in front and back of the finger
holes.
c. A ball drilled without a thumb hole may not
have more than 3/4 ounce difference between
any two halves of the ball.
d. A ball drilled without any finger holes or indentations,
may not have more than 3/4 ounce difference
between any two halves of the ball.
e. A ball used without any hole or indentations
may not have more than 3/4 ounce difference
between any two halves of the ball.
f. Any ball used with a two-handed delivery with
or without holes or indentations may not have
more than 3/4 ounce difference between any
two halves of the ball.


Extracted from rule 1:

Quote:
The player is not required to use
all the holes in any specific delivery, but they must
be able to demonstrate that each hole can reasonably
be used for gripping purposes.


As long as he can demonstrate it could be used, he's fine.
Posted by: Dennis Michael

Re: Ball legality question - 10/09/08 09:37 AM

Just looked up the same as cgeorg. Looks legal to me.
Posted by: Tim Gerard

Re: Ball legality question - 10/09/08 09:59 AM

Thanks guys. I thought it was ok. It never occured to me to look it up myself. What a lazy (bleep)...LOL.
Posted by: cgeorg

Re: Ball legality question - 10/09/08 10:04 AM

Tell me about it! Kids these days, don't want to do anything for themselves...
Posted by: Tim Gerard

Re: Ball legality question - 10/09/08 11:02 AM

LOL...Us kids want instant gratification. Sorry about that, next time I'll do it smile
Posted by: Mattdean76

Re: Ball legality question - 02/24/09 01:15 AM

Hmm, for some reason I remember that you had to cover a thumbhole if you didnt use it. I don't know where I remember it from though.
Posted by: Dennis Michael

Re: Ball legality question - 02/24/09 05:24 AM

You are right, Mattdean. The thumb hole must be covered or shown it can be covered, at presentation either by inserting your thumb or by your hand covering the hole if you don't insert your thumb. If your thumb hole is offset and cannot be covered by 1 hand as your fingers are inserted, it is illegal. Then, it is considered a second balance hole.

BTW, the posted explanation is not in the rule book, but in the Ball/Equip Spec Rules.