which is correct ???

Posted by: ebon betta

which is correct ??? - 10/19/11 03:43 AM

I am in a doubles leaague and had a question regarding what happens if a bowler bowls on the wrong lane..
1 first off this is only a 2 person team so it is hard for one team to follow each other on the wrong lane....


the other teams anchor was out side smoking and when he came back inside he got up and bowled on the wrong lane...
Than the leadoff not paying attention to his mistake got up and bowled on the same lame but the correct lane.
When they noticed everybody said he had to go tow his ball on the correct lane but I was wondering if he had already been followed if his score should have stayed and we should have just continued as though he had used the correct lane sine his partner had already gone.....
Which do you think is the correct rule here ???

Posted by: Dennis Michael

Re: which is correct ??? - 10/19/11 04:51 AM

If 1 bowler bowls on the wrong lane, he must bowl over on the correct land. However, if 2 bowers on the same team bowl on the wrong lane, their scores count, and the next bowler bowls on the correct lane.

So, I believe the 2 bowlers had to be on the same team for the scores to stand.
Posted by: spillup24

Re: which is correct ??? - 10/19/11 08:02 AM

Originally Posted By: Dennis Michael
If 1 bowler bowls on the wrong lane, he must bowl over on the correct land. However, if 2 bowers on the same team bowl on the wrong lane, their scores count, and the next bowler bowls on the correct lane.

So, I believe the 2 bowlers had to be on the same team for the scores to stand.


You are correct.....
Posted by: mmalsed

Re: which is correct ??? - 10/19/11 11:29 AM

That's what we've been told when it's happened to us, so yep.
Posted by: ebon betta

Re: which is correct ??? - 10/19/11 01:25 PM

So it should have stayed un changed ?
Yet the league president whom is some kind of board members said you always rebowl it....
Posted by: champ

Re: which is correct ??? - 10/19/11 01:36 PM

Originally Posted By: Dennis Michael
So, I believe the 2 bowlers had to be on the same team for the scores to stand.


I saw this issue taken care of durring a summer doubles league. Bowlers from opposite team bowling on the wrong lanes had to re bowl their frames.
Posted by: ebon betta

Re: which is correct ??? - 10/19/11 01:54 PM

See my contention is that their anchor has bowled on lane 22 for the 5th frame. And then the leadoff bowled on 22 for the 6 th frame. So if the anchor rebowles does the leadoff for the 6 th frame rebowl ?
Posted by: spillup24

Re: which is correct ??? - 10/19/11 02:30 PM

No, the leadoff bowler was on the correct lane...Why would he/she need to bowl again? Only the incorrect person would need to bowl again.
Posted by: Calvin Pistorio

Re: which is correct ??? - 10/19/11 06:32 PM

Originally Posted By: spillup24
No, the leadoff bowler was on the correct lane...Why would he/she need to bowl again? Only the incorrect person would need to bowl again.


I think the issue here is the order bowled. If the anchor bowled the 5th frame on lane 22, he/she actually bowled the lead-off bowler's 6th frame. Then the lead-off bowler didn't bowl in anyone's turn since the anchor of the same team hadn't actually finished the 5th frame so couldn't have been due up in the 6th yet. The anchor definitely has to re-bowl, or actually bowl the 5th frame on lane 21. Then it's a matter of either manually putting in what the lead-off bowler bowled or forcing the bowler to re-bowl. I believe the lead-off would have to re-bowl as well.
Posted by: mmalsed

Re: which is correct ??? - 10/20/11 11:36 AM

Here's the rule from USBC
Quote:
Rule 9 Bowling on the Wrong Lane
In league or tournament play, a dead ball shall be called and the player or players required to rebowl on the correct lane when:
a. One player bowls on the wrong lane.
b. One player from each team on the pair of lanes bowls on the wrong lane.
If more than one player on the same team bowls on the wrong lane in turn, all deliveries stand as bowled. Upon discovery, bowlers shall complete subsequent frames on the correct lanes.