First bowling vid

Posted by: Oriley

First bowling vid - 10/02/12 05:54 PM

Hello all,
I have been bowling for about 1 year now (9 months really as i broke my middle finger in Feb. and was out for 3 months). Here is all I have to show for my efforts thus far, which is not much I know. I am completely self taught with there being no coaches in my area. I'm sure you can see in the video that I have been struggling with high axis tilt and I really can't seem to figure this issue out.
I have included two links to the same video with one being in slow motion. I would greatly appreciate any feedback, positive or negative, from any of the coaches.

Posted by: B-Hammer

Re: First bowling vid - 10/03/12 01:11 AM

There is a lot of good going on there, and I'm not sure you really have a tilt problem, have you had it measured?

It would help the coaches allot if you can get a side view so they can check your timing.
Posted by: sk8shorty01

Re: First bowling vid - 10/03/12 12:02 PM

Quick Tip before I break down your video:

Take off the "video" tags before and after the link and it will embed itself automatically after a couple minutes. Just a heads up.

Now, onto the video:

Notice when your swing starts, the ball should be moving in your second step. As your right foot hits the floor the ball should be off of your left hand and into your swing. Right now your right foot compresses to the floor and the ball hasn't started moving yet. So as of right now your timing is an entire step late, you still look smooth but it is definitely late. Another key in your timing to check if your in time is your next right foot step (4), the ball should be at the top of the swing. Right now your right foot comes down (step 4) and the ball is still traveling up towards the top of your swing.