BowlingFans.com, The site for the fans, by the fans....
Sponsored Links

ChatBox:

Sponsored Links

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#94456 - 06/08/09 12:39 AM Removing your thumb consciously?
Shale Offline
Action Bowler

A/S/L: 27/M/WI
For a while I have wondered if my thumb was leaving the ball soon enough to take advantage of bring the rev fingers up the back of the ball. Ive had a few moments where I felt the ball drop onto my two fingers at the bottom of my swing and the revs went through the roof comparatively.

This got me thinking and I started practicing removing my thumb manually during the release instead of it falling off... im guessing this isnt proper but I have noticed it works... Ive re-evaluated my fit a few times, upped thumb hole and started using tape so the ball is perfect fit, i just feel like Im not exiting properly or something, even though I dont feel it catch.
Emmy Vibe(256)
Hot Sauce Pearl(254)
Viz-A-Ball white
IYC League:
Avg:185
HG: 245
Series: 610
Storm League
Avg: 181
HG: 224
Series: 595

#10100 - 1 second ago Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links Online   content
Legend

A/S/L: Mountain View, CA
#94463 - 06/08/09 05:28 AM Re: Removing your thumb consciously? [Re: Shale]
lbII Offline
League Bowler

A/S/L: 39/M/UK
I concur with your point.
My release can be quite eratic.
Good for a few releases than it can
go 'hay-wire' every single time i bowl, never consistent.

Then i decided to slow down my speed by moving up on my setup approach. Followed by making a consious attempt to release the thumb first everytime(however, whether this is actually happening or not i can't confirm, lol).

But i do see a considerable improvement in my release when i execute it this way (making a genuine attempt at releasing the thunb first and then just follow through with the arm/hand).

#94820 - 06/11/09 09:58 AM Re: Removing your thumb consciously? [Re: lbII]
mattyg3535 Offline
Bracket Donor

A/S/L: 34/M/cocoa. Fl