BowlingFans.com, The site for the fans, by the fans....
Sponsored Links

ChatBox:

Sponsored Links

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#8953 - 03/27/05 02:21 PM New bowling term?
Mary Allen Offline
Bracket Donor

A/S/L: 34 female Columbus, Ohio
I've been bowling for eight years and thought that I heard all the bowling lingo and phrases. I guess not. Friday night on the scratch league that I subbed in I heard this term that my team mate has mentioned and said the some people referred to me as a RINGER. Boy I never heard that term before. To me it sounds like someone's who very intimidating, but hey do I really care what some of those whiners in that league think about me. I've taken on a new attitude towards whiners and that's anyone who's intimidated by me and I see it on their faces or in the way they act, then that's good because I thrive on it and use it to kick their @** when it's time to bowl. Just wanted to know if anyone can tell me what the term RINGER means. :rolleyes:

#10100 - 1 second ago Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links Online   content
Legend

A/S/L: Mountain View, CA
#8954 - 03/27/05 07:21 PM Re: New bowling term?
Rusty 279 Offline
Junior

A/S/L: 46/male/ New Orleans
Hi Mary Allen, What I perceive to be a ringer is someone who has been brought in as a sub for competetive reasons. I bowl in a league filled with high average bowlers. I've seen teams bring in a sub who is there for one reason ,To Win The Game. But you want to know somthing? I don't even worry about it. I need to concentrate on my game. I have no control over their game so why say anything. If people are labeling you as a "ringer," just smile and take it as a compliment. And if you happen to intimidate them, that's their problem not yours. Sounds like you're a great bowler, Maybe you can come to New Orleans and sub on my team! Keep knocking down!!...... Rusty279 thumbsup

#8955 - 03/27/05 08:53 PM Re: New bowling term?
The GDF Offline
League Bowler

A/S/L: 36 / M / England