BowlingFans.com, The site for the fans, by the fans....
Sponsored Links

ChatBox:

Sponsored Links

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#69141 - 10/22/08 09:27 AM Ball veers right into gutter.
Methofaroketskick Offline
Junior Master

A/S/L: 23/F/FL
Hello.

I'm new to the sport of bowling. I did bowl on a league when I was a little kid, but that was ages ago. I have a few questions.

First, I'm left handed and what happens is when I throw the ball it tends to go to the right of the lane into the gutter. I've gotten a little better by not dropping my shoulder when throwing the ball and I can throw in a straight line, but I still have major issues. What can I do? I think I might have an issue keeping my arm straight.

#10100 - 1 second ago Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links Online   content
Legend

A/S/L: Mountain View, CA
#69160 - 10/22/08 12:44 PM Re: Ball veers right into gutter. [Re: Methofaroketskick]
CoachJim Offline
USBC Silver Coach

A/S/L: Reston, Virginia USA
Now that you've learned to not drop the shoulder you now need to learn to drop your shoulder again as that is not a problem, all of the pro's bowling side shoulders are lower than the non bowling side shoulder.

Your problem is most likely caused by a bad arm swing, or lack of an arm swing. This is not a muscle sport and any muscles you use besides your wrist muscles is a waste of energy. That being said if you want to hit your target you need to reach your fingers through the bottom of the ball and extend them through your target, this will cause your shoulder to drop and your arm to follow through toward your target, if anyone tells you that dropping your shoulder is bad, then they don't know what they are talking about, and shouldn't be giving advice until they know enough to not screw people up.

Post a video and I can help you further.

#69168 - 10/22/08 04:28 PM Re: Ball veers right into gutter. [Re: CoachJim]
Calvin Pistorio Offline
State Champion Contender

A/S/L: 32/m/maryland