BowlingFans.com, The site for the fans, by the fans....
Sponsored Links

ChatBox:

Sponsored Links

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#61645 - 07/16/08 03:37 PM right side spares
falcn63 Offline
Bumper Bowler

A/S/L: 37/m/peoria, il
Hi everyone! I am just getting back into bowling after a 7 year hiatus. The last few years I bowled I was carrying a 180-190 average in 2 house leagues. I have been bowling now for about the last 2 months about 8 games per week and am having a problem with all right hand spares (I am right handed by the way). I absolutely cannot pick up anything on the right side. I think it is some kind of mental thing as I don't seem to have a problem with left side or center spares. I just can't seem to hit my mark on the right side of the lane. I'm not even close most of the time. I'm staying near the pocket on all my strike balls but those 10s and 6-10 spares are killing me. I'm getting really frustrated. I don't understand why I can hit my marks center and left, but miss it so badly on the right side. If anyone has any suggestions I sure would appreciate it. Thanks!

#10100 - 1 second ago Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links Online   content
Legend

A/S/L: Mountain View, CA
#61646 - 07/16/08 03:41 PM Re: right side spares [Re: falcn63]
General Pounder Offline
3x Virtual League Champion

A/S/L: 40/M/Midlothian, IL
Are you using a spare ball or using your strike ball? If you are using your strike ball, are you "deadening" your hand/wrist?

#61647 - 07/16/08 03:41 PM Re: right side spares [Re: falcn63]
AmpleSound Offline
Virtual League Champion

A/S/L: 34/M/CO
You might need to check your alignment. It could be that you're not lining up properly to your mark once you hit the foul line. Either that or your getting into other bad habits in trying to force the ball. I find that a little bit of loft helps me with all of my spares along with opening the wrist (bending my hand to where the knuckles face the floor).