BowlingFans.com, The site for the fans, by the fans....
Sponsored Links

ChatBox:

Sponsored Links

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#54715 - 04/15/08 02:57 PM 14lb Vs 15lb Bowling Balls
Byrd Offline
Junior Coach

A/S/L: 23/Male/Georgia
I'm hoping that there are a few of you out here, that can help answer a question that I have. I've been bowling since I was about 5 years old. Well, I current bowl with a 14lb bowling ball, but have been getting pressure from friends of mine to go up in weight to at least a 15lb bowling ball.

They think that I would get a lot better carry and I wouldn't have any deflection issues, if I increase the weight of the bowling balls I use. Personally, I don't think there's that much of an issue about using a 14lb ball. The only thing I do notice at times, is I have a tendency to leave a lot of weak and stone cold 10's, even when I hit the pocket flush.

Do any of you think that increasing the weight of my bowling ball can really help the carry more or do you think it's just a waist of time to re-invest more money into new bowling balls, just to increase the weight?

Any comments or suggestions will be highly appreciated. Thank you very much in advance.
Lane #1, Morich, Storm, Lane Masters, & Roto Grip.

#10100 - 1 second ago Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links Online   content
Legend

A/S/L: Mountain View, CA
#54717 - 04/15/08 03:08 PM Re: 14lb Vs 15lb Bowling Balls [Re: Byrd]
CoachJim Offline
USBC Silver Coach

A/S/L: Reston, Virginia USA
14lb balls have the same core dynamics as 15 and 16lb balls, there are still deflection issues, but mostly on light hits, you will also get away with high hits more often then the heavier balls. Sometimes more deflection is a good thing, you will leave less solid back row pins because the ball will hit the 1,3,5 and 9 instead of 1,3,5 and 8. If you are comfortable with 14, then stay with 14.

#54718 - 04/15/08 03:13 PM Re: 14lb Vs 15lb Bowling Balls [Re: CoachJim]
Atochabsh Offline