BowlingFans.com, The site for the fans, by the fans....
Sponsored Links

ChatBox:

Sponsored Links

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#45960 - 12/07/07 03:30 PM Is your bowling ball warranty void?
brettbolt Offline
Action Bowler

A/S/L: California
All 3 of mine are because of the Pro Shop's where they were drilled.

I learned this because I read the warranty terms and conditions after my ball cracked. (The cracking itself was probably my fault, but drilling too close to the pin wasn't. The pro shops chose where to place the holes and didn't show me the exact hole locations in advance for my approval).

Many of you probably already know this, but as a newbie I didn't. Brunswick's warranty is void if any hole is within 1" of the pin. My AMF Orbit is 3/4" pin to nearest hole. Both my Radical Inferno (which cracked) and my BVP Mammoth are 1/4" pin to hole.

Most of us here probably agree that 1" pin to hole is probably way more than necessary to avoid cracking, so maybe Brunswick just uses this restriction to dodge out of their warranty responsibility.

I don't know, maybe the Pro Shop that drilled the ball eats the cost when a returned ball is disqualified from warranty because of their drilling too close to the pin?

I suspect that cracked balls are uncommon, so maybe the Pro Shop is willing to drill close to the pin because the risk of cracking within 1 year is low?

In the future, I plan to:
1) Be aware of the warranty and the drilling limitations it imposes.
2) Make sure the Pro Shop knows the warranty drilling restrictions.
3) Save the receipt.
4) Never rinse a warm bowling ball in cold water again.
5) Never buy a used ball without the original receipt (unless its over a year old).
6) Never keep the ball in the car when its real hot or cold outside.

#10100 - 1 second ago Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links Online   content
Legend

A/S/L: Mountain View, CA
#45963 - 12/07/07 04:21 PM Re: Is your bowling ball warranty void? [Re: brettbolt]
Lefty Offline
Legend