BowlingFans.com, The site for the fans, by the fans....
Sponsored Links

ChatBox:

Sponsored Links

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#34501 - 10/16/06 01:41 PM Change from a stroker to a tweener or cranker?
Rookie Roller Offline
Junior

A/S/L: 34/M/Washington
I have been bowling now for about 4 months using a stroker style. I have learned 3 different releases to help me in different situations: a flat release for spares, a simple 45 degree release for a down and in shot, and a release with more hand action to put maximum revs on the ball.

Normally, during league I play the simple down and in shot, but last night I couldn’t buy a pocket hit and struggled all night. Desperate in the 10th of my last game, I decided to try something different and switch to the release with more revs. I also started my approach much closer to the foul line so that my steps would be a little slower.

Several people were watching me as I sent my ball over the 17 board to about the 7 board and then back into the pocket 3 times in a row to finish with a turkey and a win for my team.

Now one of the key things that I did differently was start my push away much lower and kind of pulled the ball back to the top of my swing instead of using a higher push away and letting gravity get me to the top. Honestly, I felt like my targeting was much better along with my balance and leverage at release. I felt like I had much more control than my normal stroker style.

So is this considered to be tweening and could I continue to develop this style? What are the differences between a stroker, tweener and a cranker? Has anyone changed their style from a stroker to a tweener or cranker?

I really liked how it felt to release the ball in this manner but I’m not sure if I should continue to try and develop it or not. One of the guys at my alley told me that you can’t teach yourself how to “tween” or “crank” and that you must be coached…is this true? Would it even be worth it for me to learn?