BowlingFans.com, The site for the fans, by the fans....
Sponsored Links

ChatBox:

Sponsored Links

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#31954 - 06/01/06 02:17 PM How to convince someone ELSE to get their own equipment
cheetah Offline
Action Bowler

A/S/L: 29/M/Seattle, WA/Right-handed
I've been bowling with a particular teammate for 3 years now, and during that time, he's never used his own equipment. For a while, he was using his brother's ball, which is 15+ years old, and had bubble gum holding the 10+ year old inserts in. Now his brother's ball is not available to him and he's been grabbing whichever of my or other teammates' balls that aren't being used on that particular night.

None of these balls fit his hand, and they're never appropriate for the lane conditions (he even used my plastic spare ball one week), yet he's currently averaging 228. Dispite having a brain tumor 10 years ago (before which he had a 210+ average), which damaged his peripheral vision and kept him out of the game for 8 years, he's a hand-eye coordination anomaly.

I know that he would be ridiculous if only he had a ball or three that fit his hand. The only problem is he's been saying for the last 3 years that he'll get a ball, but still hasn't. I've even given him an undrilled ball which he's done nothing with. Sometimes when I ask him why he hasn't bought a ball yet, he asks why bother if he does so well with other peoples'.

How do I convince him to buy his own equipment?

Tim

#10100 - 1 second ago Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links Online   content
Legend

A/S/L: Mountain View, CA
#31955 - 06/02/06 07:26 AM Re: How to convince someone ELSE to get their own equipment
bimmerman Offline
Bracket Donor

A/S/L: 55/M/Maryland
While I will occasionaly let someone throw one of my ball to see how it reacts, I never let someone use my equipment for leagues, etc. I put enough games on them myself, I don't need help in increasing the wear on them.