BowlingFans.com, The site for the fans, by the fans....
Sponsored Links

ChatBox:

Sponsored Links

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#30189 - 01/24/06 02:34 AM dulled ball
ChrisLim Offline
Junior

A/S/L: 24/M/Singapore
Hi,
I'm quite new to bowling. I have a question about the ball.

I understand that a dulled ball can hook more. Does this dulled ball refer to one that is sanded? Or it means that I need not polish the ball in order let it become "dulled" naturally?

#10100 - 1 second ago Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links Online   content
Legend

A/S/L: Mountain View, CA
#30190 - 01/24/06 03:29 AM Re: dulled ball
lorok Offline
Team USA Contender

A/S/L: 30/male/albuquerque
the duller the ball, the coarser the surface generally. the coarser the surface, the lower the number referring to the grit it has been sanded with. for example: i have "the one" from ebonite which is sanded to 4000 grit and it is very glossy. i also have a "weapon of mass bias" from morich which is sanded to 500 grit and is very dull, or flat, in color.

as far as the hooking, it's not only the surface texture that matters. surface texture will create more read or friction on the lane, but it's the strength and position of the core that determines the ball movement. for another example: my morich ball is made to hook in heavy oil. the surface is much coarser which allows an earlier read on the lane. it is more of an arcing type reaction (although it does have some backend). my ebonite ball is a much smoother surface which allows it to travel further down the lane before it hooks with a more severe change in direction. i'd say between the two, each on their optimal lane conditions (heavy for the morich, med for the one) that the one outhooks the morich. but if i put the morich on some drier lanes, it would hook way too early and probably hook itself into the gutter. and if i played the one on a really heavy or long oil pattern, it wouldn't hook much at all.