BowlingFans.com, The site for the fans, by the fans....
Sponsored Links

ChatBox:

Sponsored Links

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#28964 - 09/10/05 09:23 PM Ball Question
Bryant Offline
Junior

A/S/L: 14/M/MN
I'm thinking about getting a ball of my own, a brunswick power groove. The thing i cant decide is if I should go for the reactive or particle coverstock. I mainly bowl in two houses, both med-heavy oil. One usually has a fresh coat of oil on it, dry backends. The other has a bit of oil carry down.

Thanks

#10100 - 1 second ago Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links Online   content
Legend

A/S/L: Mountain View, CA
#28965 - 09/21/05 11:40 AM Re: Ball Question
Mutilated1 Offline
High Roller

A/S/L: 36/Male/Pell City AL, Right Ha...
Hi Bryant,

I just got my first real ball after debating that same question. I'm a beginner, so I can't tell you for certain which is best, but all the pros I talked to recommended particle to me, so thats what I went with.

Hope that helps you.

Good Bowling!

#28966 - 09/21/05 03:24 PM Re: Ball Question
Chief Offline
Bracket Donor

A/S/L: 50/Male/Michigan
In most cases the particle ball will have a more subtle reaction. The ball may hook as much as a reactive ball but it in most cases is a more gradual arc instead of a snap or skid/flip reaction. Also the amount of oil is rarely significant unless it is a house that places less than normal amounts. There are very few house shots that are heavy oil because of the cost to put that shot out. When people say they are bowling in heavy oil they often are playing the middle of the lane where the highest concentration of oil is placed.

#28967 - 09/21/05 04:23 PM Re: Ball Question
Bryant Offline
Junior

Thanks guys,

I was just wondering though, if i got a ball, would it be better to go with a entry level ball like the power groove or move up to something with a more dynamic core like the bvp line?

#28968 - 09/21/05 04:33 PM Re: Ball Question
Mutilated1 Offline
High Roller