BowlingFans.com, The site for the fans, by the fans....
Sponsored Links

ChatBox:

Sponsored Links

Page 3 of 5 < 1 2 3 4 5 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#25160 - 03/01/05 07:19 PM Re: thumb hole...too big?
CCbowler05 Offline
Junior

A/S/L: 17 m michigan
I have been bowling for over 7 years but just last year swiched to relaxed grip which shot my average from 140 to 205 in less than 3 weeks. My question is is it wrong that I squeeze with my thumb until the point just before I release the ball then I relax my thumb. Its working fine for me now but would my average go up if I switched to relaxed all the way through?

#10100 - 1 second ago Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links Online   content
Legend

A/S/L: Mountain View, CA
#25161 - 03/02/05 09:29 AM Re: thumb hole...too big?
Micky James Offline
Bumper Bowler

A/S/L: 63/m/Baker, La
CCbowler05, you should use relaxed grip throughout swing. If you do this that is one less thing you have to think about as you throw the ball. You may have to use tape in the thumb hole to get the release point that you want. Ideally you would throw the ball with one thing on your mind, that is keep my eye on the target!

#25162 - 03/02/05 12:49 PM Re: thumb hole...too big?
802dave Offline
Action Bowler

A/S/L: 52/male/Fort Worth, TX
I agree with Micky!

I've always used tape in my thumb hole as necessary, but I have "fine-tuned" the thumbhole recently. I've been using the white textured tape on the front of the thumbhole, I've started additionally using the black smooth tape on the back of the thumbhole to get a snugger fit.

Adding the black smooth tape for a snugger fit has increased my confidence in my grip; I'm then able to focus more on releasing the ball at my target! This obviously will pay off with a higher average in relation to the prevalent lane conditions!