BowlingFans.com, The site for the fans, by the fans....
Sponsored Links

ChatBox:

Sponsored Links

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#24715 - 10/08/02 12:15 PM Can't bowl with urethane-Brunswick Groove
morgan Offline
Bumper Bowler

A/S/L: 30/f/western ny
I have been using a plastic ball for 8 years. The plastic ball I had was drilled unproperly. However over the 8 years I learned to compensate for it. Hit my pocket and got the pins down. The holes were extremly large so I would grasp my ball and learned to use it.
I just recently bought a urethane ball.Its a Brunswick Groove. The owner of the pro-shop has been drilling balls for 50 years. The fit of the ball is perfect unlike my old plastic ball.He had encouraged me to by a urethane ball saying it has better grip on the lane and better pin action. I throw a straight ball and always have.
I am extremly frustrated because I have been hitting the pocket everytime. The most perfect throw a ball can have. I am robbed everytime because instead of getting my strike I always leave one or 2 pins.I have never had this problem.
With my plastic ball, when I hit the pocket I always got the pins down.I should also add I don't bowl by looking at the mark. I pin bowl. I have to look at the pins when I throw or I can't bowl at all.
I can't improve my game because I am hitting the pocket. I don't know what to do. All I seem to get is one or two dead pins left..no strike. My average was a 130 now I am lucky if I can break 100 game. I even used my friends ball for one game, which hers is plastic. I bowled a 150. ??????????? Does this make sense?
Is there something I have to do different with a urethane ball? Its suppose to have better pin action with urethane instead of plastic but I had better pin action with my plastic poorly drilled ball.
I have been bowling with my new ball for 4 weeks now with no solution in site. I'm about ready to give up on it but I spent all that money on a new ball. I don't want it to just sit in a closet.