BowlingFans.com, The site for the fans, by the fans....
Sponsored Links

ChatBox:

Sponsored Links

Page 2 of 4 < 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#199502 - 06/21/18 05:11 PM Re: I'll try again [Re: RGR]
82Boat69 Offline
Touring Pro Contender

A/S/L: 70/M/California
Many people bowl, but few are interested in all the details surrounding bowling balls and lane conditions.

That said, in my opinion, the number one item I attribute a 200+ average to, is confidence. I believe knowledge is power and in a game like bowling, those who understand the game have an edge over those who don't, even if you don't average 200.

Believe me, I've been proven wrong on this site many times. I'm not opposed to contacting USBC directly to prove how wrong I can be :-) But I keep learning.

I'm 70. I've been averaging over 200 since 1970. As I age, knowledge replaces my waning physical skills. I'm constantly trying new things and in the last couple of years it's cost me a small fortune, but I've learned things that give me a competitive edge, even though I wish we could all just split the cash equally and have a great time :-)

In the last year I've spent about $1,000 simply trying different dual angle combinations at $50 a pop. I have a Storm Lock which has now been drilled 5 times.

I know, purest will tell me the weight block is so damaged that I can't possibly expect the ball to react properly, but I know that surface represents 90% of a ball's reaction and the weight block, maybe 10%. Also, I know that the damage I do only impacts about 1 pound of an 11 pound weight block. So, how many times I re-drill doesn't really bother me.

This all said, all my balls give me optimum skid, hook and roll for the condition I bowl on.

My PAP is 6-3/16 over and down 3/8. I have a very high track as a former full-roller who converted. I throw about 16 MPH with 300-325 RPM's with moderate tilt and rotation.