BowlingFans.com, The site for the fans, by the fans....
Sponsored Links

ChatBox:

Sponsored Links

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#198479 - 11/12/17 07:03 PM Back-up Bowling
Lynn Offline
Bumper Bowler

A/S/L: 15/F/Iowa
I'm not a beginner to bowling, but I need a few tips on how to break my back-up bowling habits. I'm a female, and have been throwing back-up for a few years, so throwing this way is a bit more natural for me, my coach and I have tried so many ways to switch the way I throw and nothing has worked so far. I've tried moving my hand to the right side of the ball when I line up and even tried a wrist brace and still come out throwing back-up. It'd be really great if you could drop tips for me to try.

#10100 - 1 second ago Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links Online   content
Legend

A/S/L: Mountain View, CA
#198480 - 11/12/17 08:18 PM Re: Back-up Bowling [Re: Lynn]
82Boat69 Offline
Regional Pro Contender

A/S/L: 69/M/California
The best way is to work backwards.

Move all the way to the right side of the lane as if you were going to throw your ball straight down the 5 board or at the first arrow.

Move your body all the way to the foul line and assume the classic finishing position. Left knee bent, Left arm out to the left, right leg behind and left. Your right arm should be hanging down to your right side.

Without a ball swing your right arm back and forth keeping your forearm facing toward the 5 board or first arrow. In this position your hand will be wide open and your thumb out to the right.

Here's a video;

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DHEDiAfxUVo

Once you get use to this position, then pick up your ball and repeat. Swing the ball back and forth but don't let go. As you swing the ball, make sure it swings straight back and straight forward under your shoulder. You may need to drop your shoulder to accomplish it correctly. That's okay.