BowlingFans.com, The site for the fans, by the fans....
Sponsored Links

ChatBox:

Sponsored Links

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#198312 - 10/11/17 10:25 AM Finger Swelling
foxbowler Offline
Bumper Bowler

A/S/L: 16/f/Nebraska
Hi, so I am a high school bowler and this is my first year so I don't have my own ball yet. I use a 10 lb. house ball. My middle finger keeps swelling during matches and practice. I push through the pain because I'm on JV and we only have the minimum players of 4. If I sit out then we lose the points I could have gotten. But my finger starts to swell and hurt and its harder to grip the ball. What should I do until I get my own ball

#10100 - 1 second ago Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links Online   content
Legend

A/S/L: Mountain View, CA
#198315 - 10/11/17 11:47 AM Re: Finger Swelling [Re: foxbowler]
Dennis Michael Offline
Virtual League Champion

A/S/L: M/Barrington, Ill
Chances are, your house ball doesn't fit. You didn't say which finger. Could be a different reason for each.

But,
1. A 10 pound ball would probably be too light for you. General rule is 1/10 of your weight when learning.
2. It's a conventional grip as a house ball. Your span between thumb and fingers is prob too short. Causing you to grip the ball and squeeze with your fingers.
3. I'd look in the Pro Shop for a used ball and have it plugged and redrilled to fit your hand. It's the most economic way to go.
4. Our Pro Shop here, offers older balls to the local HS kids that were left behind.
See if yours will help too.
5. Learn the proper release as releasing a ball improperly could cause pain.

Need more info. Which finger, and where on your finger. Any blisters? Open sores when bowling?

http://www.jayhawkbowling.com/Pro_s_Corner/Fitting_Tips/fitting.html