BowlingFans.com, The site for the fans, by the fans....
Sponsored Links

ChatBox:

Sponsored Links

Page 1 of 10 1 2 3 ... 9 10 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#18892 - 01/05/05 04:00 PM Spare ball - necessary or not
Dick Offline
High Roller

A/S/L: Quarryville, Pa
This discussion started in the beginner forum and is more appropriate here. I do not advocate either method of making spares but I choose not to use a spare ball. Just wondering what thoughts are out there.

#10100 - 1 second ago Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links Online   content
Legend

A/S/L: Mountain View, CA
#18893 - 01/05/05 04:33 PM Re: Spare ball - necessary or not
Squirrel Offline
Bracket Donor

A/S/L: 42/male/London, Ontario
For me, I'm using the 2001 Blue Hammer, no spare yet. I only got it a few weeks ago so I'm still learning how to get consistent hooks with it but it's not too bad now. For spare shots I throw it straight. The problem is, I find that by switching back and forth, it's slowing down my ability to be consistent.

Last week I went and played 3 games, but used a house ball for the spares so I could consistently throw my Hammer the same way and I could see the difference in accuracy between the first and third game. A few days ago I played a few games with just my Hammer and didn't do as good.

I'm definately getting a spare ball very soon.

#18894 - 01/05/05 05:20 PM Re: Spare ball - necessary or not
Scout Offline
Bracket Donor

A/S/L: 50/M/Fort Worth, TX
For what it is worth I have had my old Black Diamond plugged and drilled like Columbia Wicked to use as a spare ball. On the days that I just can't hit the 10 pin (you know those days that you don't flatten out the release enough for some odd reason), I go back to old reliable that is why I invested in the old black ball.

I think I should use it more.

#18895 - 01/05/05 10:46 PM Re: Spare ball - necessary or not
ACK Offline
League Bowler

A/S/L: 41/male/ Indiana