BowlingFans.com, The site for the fans, by the fans....
Sponsored Links

ChatBox:

Sponsored Links

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#186985 - 04/20/14 05:13 PM Approach issue-my shoes or my head??
Edy13 Offline
Bantam

A/S/L: 40+/M/Ohio
I noticed that I am very self conscious with my feet / shoes. I have a pair of Rios that are universal and I constantly feel uneasy and unsure when on the approach- it just feels too 'slippery' to me and I can't seem to get into a stride let alone a comfortable and secure slide at the release. I am wondering if this is normal and it just takes repetition to 'trust' my shoes or if I should look at new shoes with a traction pad / sole to give me a sense of security and more traction. Do the shoes designed for a specific hand make that much of a difference?

I appreciate your insight and suggestions. I am brand new at the sport and it is obvious that it is becoming a major issue in getting better. I'm just not sure if it is the shoes or me.

Thanks.

#10100 - 1 second ago Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links Online   content
Legend

A/S/L: Mountain View, CA
#186986 - 04/20/14 05:31 PM Re: Approach issue-my shoes or my head?? [Re: Edy13]
Calvin Pistorio Offline
State Champion Contender

A/S/L: 32/m/maryland
Yes, the shoes with a traction sole on your non-slid foot makes a big difference. After a few games using them you won't want to use the universals again. Now your slide foot can still slip.

Now without video of you bowling I don't know if what I'm going to say is true or not. It can also be you. If you are nearly running to the line. I know there are times when I rush my approach I feel my slid foot slipping and I have to remind my self to slow down.
HS:763

#186993 - 04/20/14 08:10 PM Re: Approach issue-my shoes or my head?? [Re: Calvin Pistorio]
Edy13 Offline
Bantam