BowlingFans.com, The site for the fans, by the fans....
Sponsored Links

ChatBox:

Sponsored Links

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#181795 - 10/05/13 04:50 PM league prize fund suggestions
TominNJ Offline
Virtual League Champion

A/S/L: 59 M EHT NJ
I've been charged with coming up with a proposed prize fund for our league of 5 man teams. This is my first time getting involved in league admin and I could use some suggestions.

thanks

#10100 - 1 second ago Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links Online   content
Legend

A/S/L: Mountain View, CA
#181825 - 10/07/13 01:47 PM Re: league prize fund suggestions [Re: TominNJ]
JW123 Offline
Team USA Contender

A/S/L: 45/M/NJ
A couple things that need to be known first:

1) Was the league advertised as "$5,000 First Prize" or something along those lines? If so, you're going to be obligated to have that be first place prize money and can't mess with it.
2) Was there anything said at the meeting about individual awards, such as do you pay only high game, high series, and high average, or is it 1-2-3 in each category?

You didn't say how many teams there are, but I'll give my suggestion based on 14 teams.

Take the amount that each man contributed to the PRIZE FUND (not total dues) for the season, and make that the per-man return for 6th place (one spot above halfway; in a 20 team league, this amount should be for 9th place).

The per-bowler first place money should be very close to the total amount they paid in dues for the season, either a little over or a little under. If I'm paying $20 a week for 35 weeks ($700 total), I would never vote for a list with first place anything less than $650 a bowler, and if it were up to me to make the list, I'd have first be somewhere in the $725-750 range.