BowlingFans.com, The site for the fans, by the fans....
Sponsored Links

ChatBox:

Sponsored Links

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#172407 - 10/24/12 01:10 AM Help a very green bowler!
IrideWoods Offline
Bumper Bowler

A/S/L: N Pittsburgh
Hi Everyone! I am a very novice bowler but really enjoying the challenge! I want to apologize upfront about the video not being my whole body. I had a friend take this really quickly today with this site in mind, but I hadn't yet watched the tutorial video.

I know this is really pretty rough, but I was hoping someone could pick out some of the biggest problems that I could work on! I've been trying feverishly to get a hook, but with little success.

Anyhow any advice is appreciated!
If it matters ball is 15lb C-System Alphamax

#10100 - 1 second ago Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links Online   content
Legend

A/S/L: Mountain View, CA
#172409 - 10/24/12 02:03 AM Re: Help a very green bowler! [Re: IrideWoods]
ijohn83 Offline
4x Virtual League Champion

A/S/L: 54/male/Palmdale, California U...
At release I would try to get my hips down with knee bend on slide leg instead of your straight stiff slide leg with forward back lean.

Right now your steps look fairly good as far as no drifting. Don't let anyone tell you to get the ball closer to your slide foot to get more leverage. In my experience, you will learn wrongly to walk into your swing to accomplish it. You will spend years unlearning that into the swing drift. When you get your back lean right, open shoulder angle right, and free swing working for you, the leveraged ball position with take care of itself. Just saying.

~John

#172410 - 10/24/12 03:03 AM Re: Help a very green bowler! [Re: IrideWoods]
B-Hammer Offline
Legend

A/S/L: 30/M/Bellingham WA
I recommend learning how to get some knee continuation and learn how to post your shot (both feet on the ground).