BowlingFans.com, The site for the fans, by the fans....
Sponsored Links

ChatBox:

Sponsored Links

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#16580 - 09/26/01 11:56 AM What does it take?
nibbsbitt Offline
Bumper Bowler

A/S/L: 24 / m / NY
Hi, I have been bowling off and on since I was six years old, my father is a 220 average even now in his fifties and his father was a great bowler and his father's father so bowling is ingrained in our family history. I was bowling all year round consistently until I was 22, I always finished leagues in the low 200's average wise. I stopped bowling for a year and a half and just got back into it this summer, I finished out at 198 and that was struggling. I am 24 now and I am really into bowling again, I am a self imployed web site designer and work at home so I have as much time as I need to practice and such. I have just bought 6 new balls in the course of the last week because I really love the sport and want to excel. My main point of this post is this, ever since I have been bowling every time I bowl I have people from all over the place, people from other teams other lanes, house owners coming up to me telling me what a beautiful ball i throw and I really should try to be a pro, I know it sounds like I am bragging but I'm not, it's the truth. Every time I throw a strike I got 10 or 15 people slapping my hand. The reason I think I never got into the upper two's was because of my attitude, I had a terrible temper until I was about 22 when I had the front 11 on a league night and I left a stone ten on the final shot, I absolutely lost it, throwing stuff screaming punching things, yes I was one of those idiots. Now I am much more mature and I never lose my temper over anything anymore, it does nothing but hinder performance. SO now I am back into full blown leagues, I struggled for the first 3 weeks and was averaging 193 but everyone knew it was only a matter of time before I got my timing back and last night I shot 753 with my new Tour Hamm