BowlingFans.com, The site for the fans, by the fans....
Sponsored Links

ChatBox:

Sponsored Links

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#160044 - 01/01/12 03:30 AM Tournament bowlers, Please help
metguy Offline
Legend

A/S/L: 46/m/waverly iowa
Anyone have any advice for bowling in tournaments compared to regular leagues? Last tournament i got into (5 yrs ago), I was lost the entire time. Do you need to change the grit or slow down the ball speed or do you just leave your equipment alone and play certain lines? My accuracy has improved so i think i may be able to do better but i have no experience to fall back on.

I was thinking i'd practice throwing my Blue Hammer on tight inside lines to try simulating what i think i will see in ball reaction, is this a good plan for practicing? This GIBA tournament is in my home center on the last sunday of febuary. I feel 2 months is enough time to prepare, how should i go about preparring?

This season: HG-289 HS-685
Career #'s : HG-299 HS-782

Arsonal: Heat (Pearl), 2Fast, Blue Hammer, Raptor P7, Fire Road

TRANSITIONING TO MOTIV EQUIPMENT
(CCWBRA)

#10100 - 1 second ago Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links Online   content
Legend

A/S/L: Mountain View, CA
#160051 - 01/01/12 07:32 AM Re: Tournament bowlers, Please help [Re: metguy]
Calvin Pistorio Offline
State Champion Contender

A/S/L: 32/m/maryland
In order to do any surface prep to a ball you would have to know what the pattern is going to be. If you were to dull equipment up and then end up with a light or short pattern, you have early roll out to contend with. If you go polished and the pattern is long and/or heavy then a squirty break point reaction. There is also a matter of if it's broken up into squads and if they are re-oiling between squads, which doesn't happen too often, and which squad you will be on.