BowlingFans.com, The site for the fans, by the fans....
Sponsored Links

ChatBox:

Sponsored Links

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#159017 - 12/05/11 12:42 AM Fingertip drill without rubber inserts?
brettbolt Offline
Action Bowler

A/S/L: California
I've been throwing a straight ball with conventional grip for 5 years. I've tried to learn to throw a hook ball without much success. Part of the problem is that I suffered a severe injury to my bowling hand when I was 17 years old. My thumb had to be amputated near the 1st joint. But my middle and ring fingers are fine.

I have tried a couple of fingertip drilled balls with rubber inserts. But one of the problems I had was that my fingers tended to get stuck in the rubber grips and bend backwards during release. I tried switching to larger inserts and that didn't help.

My Fall 2011 league average is 168 now. But I'm only getting 3 or 4 strikes per game and that is whats preventing me from advancing. I've got to Master the hook release.

So here's my question: Is it very common to have a fingertip drilled ball without rubber inserts? Also, with my shortened thumb, should I try semi-fingertip, relaxed-fingertip, or full fingertip?

#10100 - 1 second ago Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links Online   content
Legend

A/S/L: Mountain View, CA
#159019 - 12/05/11 01:02 AM Re: Fingertip drill without rubber inserts? [Re: brettbolt]
B-Hammer Offline
Legend

A/S/L: 30/M/Bellingham WA
Inserts are more common, but people do go without finger inserts (like Norm Duke). If your fingers are getting stuck you might want to have the finger pitches adjusted to help you get out of the fingers cleaner.

Relaxed finger tip is the way to go as long your thumb can support it.

#159024 - 12/05/11 07:35 AM Re: Fingertip drill without rubber inserts? [Re: brettbolt]
6_ball_man Offline
Regional Pro Contender

A/S/L: 57/m/downtown churchville