BowlingFans.com, The site for the fans, by the fans....
Sponsored Links




ChatBox:

Sponsored Links


Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#156671 - 10/19/11 03:43 AM which is correct ???
ebon betta Offline
Team USA Contender

Registered: 11/11/10
Posts: 488
A/S/L: 54/m/nyc /ny2
I am in a doubles leaague and had a question regarding what happens if a bowler bowls on the wrong lane..
1 first off this is only a 2 person team so it is hard for one team to follow each other on the wrong lane....


the other teams anchor was out side smoking and when he came back inside he got up and bowled on the wrong lane...
Than the leadoff not paying attention to his mistake got up and bowled on the same lame but the correct lane.
When they noticed everybody said he had to go tow his ball on the correct lane but I was wondering if he had already been followed if his score should have stayed and we should have just continued as though he had used the correct lane sine his partner had already gone.....
Which do you think is the correct rule here ???


Top
#10100 - 1 second ago Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links Online   content
Legend

Registered: Fri Aug 27 2004
Posts: 10100
A/S/L: Mountain View, CA
Top
#156673 - 10/19/11 04:51 AM Re: which is correct ??? [Re: ebon betta]
Dennis Michael Offline
Virtual League Champion

Registered: 12/11/05
Posts: 9814
A/S/L: M/Barrington, Ill
If 1 bowler bowls on the wrong lane, he must bowl over on the correct land. However, if 2 bowers on the same team bowl on the wrong lane, their scores count, and the next bowler bowls on the correct lane.

So, I believe the 2 bowlers had to be on the same team for the scores to stand.
_________________________
LM - Black Diamond 15#
Lord Field - Exodus Pearl 15#
Legends - L/M New Terminator 15#
Legends - L/M Xtreme Damage 15# Strong pearl




Top
#156677 - 10/19/11 08:02 AM Re: which is correct ??? [Re: Dennis Michael]
spillup24 Offline
High Roller

Registered: 10/02/10
Posts: 349
A/S/L: Philadelphia, PA
Originally Posted By: Dennis Michael
If 1 bowler bowls on the wrong lane, he must bowl over on the correct land. However, if 2 bowers on the same team bowl on the wrong lane, their scores count, and the next bowler bowls on the correct lane.

So, I believe the 2 bowlers had to be on the same team for the scores to stand.


You are correct.....

Top
#156685 - 10/19/11 11:29 AM Re: which is correct ??? [Re: ebon betta]
mmalsed Offline
Virtual League Champion

Registered: 10/18/10
Posts: 1381
A/S/L: 43/M/Riverside, CA
That's what we've been told when it's happened to us, so yep.
_________________________
Avg: 206
Season High Gm: 279 / Lifetime: 290
Season High Ser: 762 / Lifetime: 762

16# IQ Tour Pearl/16# Crux/16# Marvel S/15#White Dot

"Gotta kick at the darkness 'till it bleeds daylight"

Top
#156691 - 10/19/11 01:25 PM Re: which is correct ??? [Re: ebon betta]
ebon betta Offline
Team USA Contender

Registered: 11/11/10
Posts: 488
A/S/L: 54/m/nyc /ny2
So it should have stayed un changed ?
Yet the league president whom is some kind of board members said you always rebowl it....

Top
#156692 - 10/19/11 01:36 PM Re: which is correct ??? [Re: Dennis Michael]
champ Offline
Virtual League Champion

Registered: 11/30/10
Posts: 2144
A/S/L: 32/M/AZ
Originally Posted By: Dennis Michael
So, I believe the 2 bowlers had to be on the same team for the scores to stand.


I saw this issue taken care of durring a summer doubles league. Bowlers from opposite team bowling on the wrong lanes had to re bowl their frames.
_________________________
Nowadays, I open bowl practice and go to Nationals every year.

USBC Open personal bests: 226/602/1690
USBC Open career average: 174.66 (45 Games)

See you in Reno 2020!

Top
#156694 - 10/19/11 01:54 PM Re: which is correct ??? [Re: ebon betta]
ebon betta Offline
Team USA Contender

Registered: 11/11/10
Posts: 488
A/S/L: 54/m/nyc /ny2
See my contention is that their anchor has bowled on lane 22 for the 5th frame. And then the leadoff bowled on 22 for the 6 th frame. So if the anchor rebowles does the leadoff for the 6 th frame rebowl ?

Top
#156698 - 10/19/11 02:30 PM Re: which is correct ??? [Re: ebon betta]
spillup24 Offline
High Roller

Registered: 10/02/10
Posts: 349
A/S/L: Philadelphia, PA
No, the leadoff bowler was on the correct lane...Why would he/she need to bowl again? Only the incorrect person would need to bowl again.

Top
#156712 - 10/19/11 06:32 PM Re: which is correct ??? [Re: spillup24]
Calvin Pistorio Offline
State Champion Contender

Registered: 02/19/07
Posts: 6283
A/S/L: 32/m/maryland
Originally Posted By: spillup24
No, the leadoff bowler was on the correct lane...Why would he/she need to bowl again? Only the incorrect person would need to bowl again.


I think the issue here is the order bowled. If the anchor bowled the 5th frame on lane 22, he/she actually bowled the lead-off bowler's 6th frame. Then the lead-off bowler didn't bowl in anyone's turn since the anchor of the same team hadn't actually finished the 5th frame so couldn't have been due up in the 6th yet. The anchor definitely has to re-bowl, or actually bowl the 5th frame on lane 21. Then it's a matter of either manually putting in what the lead-off bowler bowled or forcing the bowler to re-bowl. I believe the lead-off would have to re-bowl as well.
_________________________
Calvin's Highs
Career
HG:300
HS:763

Top
#156756 - 10/20/11 11:36 AM Re: which is correct ??? [Re: ebon betta]
mmalsed Offline
Virtual League Champion

Registered: 10/18/10
Posts: 1381
A/S/L: 43/M/Riverside, CA
Here's the rule from USBC
Quote:
Rule 9 Bowling on the Wrong Lane
In league or tournament play, a dead ball shall be called and the player or players required to rebowl on the correct lane when:
a. One player bowls on the wrong lane.
b. One player from each team on the pair of lanes bowls on the wrong lane.
If more than one player on the same team bowls on the wrong lane in turn, all deliveries stand as bowled. Upon discovery, bowlers shall complete subsequent frames on the correct lanes.


_________________________
Avg: 206
Season High Gm: 279 / Lifetime: 290
Season High Ser: 762 / Lifetime: 762

16# IQ Tour Pearl/16# Crux/16# Marvel S/15#White Dot

"Gotta kick at the darkness 'till it bleeds daylight"

Top



Moderator:  Angel, Community Manager 
Savings That Support BowlingCommunity.com
We need your help!
Rather than begging for donations we're asking you to do one simple thing to help keep these forums running smooth:
When shopping for anything on Amazon.com or eBay please use these links to go to the web sites.

This won't cost you a cent!
You'll still get the exact same low prices, deals and free or low cost shipping; it doesn't change anything for you at all! The items do not have to be bowling related; all purchases made through these links help us! Amazon.com and eBay will pay us a small commission for every sale and it's helping us cover the expenses.

BowlingCommunity.com Recent Posts
Friends made a dumb bet
by Dylan585 - 12/05/19 07:50 PM
Difference between shammy & microfiber towel
by Dylan585 - 12/05/19 07:49 PM
Bowler turns 100
by Dennis Michael - 11/19/19 05:04 PM
Our Bowling Ally is now Chuckie Cheese
by djp1080 - 11/18/19 07:59 PM
Major News in the Industry
by Mkirchie - 11/17/19 04:35 PM
Good morning everyone...
by djp1080 - 11/17/19 12:50 PM
Plastic or Urethane?
by Dennis Michael - 11/17/19 12:45 PM
What is the best ball to get?
by djp1080 - 11/10/19 09:02 PM
Terms Of Use
Use of this community signifies your agreement to the Community Standards and Conditions of Use.

About BowlingFans.com | Contact Us | Advertise With Us | Site Map
Use of this website constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. | Material Connection Disclosure

Copyright © 1998 - 2019 - usrbingeek LLC | Copyright Policy
BowlingFans.com, BowlingFans, The Right Approach, Kegler's Connection, Tour411, BallBeat, BowlingCommunity.com, BowlSearch.com, and Bowling News You Can Use are trademarks of usrbingeek LLC. All other trademarks and tradenames are property of their respective owners.