BowlingFans.com, The site for the fans, by the fans....
Sponsored Links

ChatBox:

Sponsored Links

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#152760 - 06/24/11 10:59 AM Progress
DrAvery Offline
Bracket Donor

A/S/L: 33 M Seattle, WA
I've been working with a coach for a few months now, and over the last few weeks, my swing has changed more than the entire year before. We've been working backwards, solving one problem at a time. Last week I was in a state of flux, taking my arm out of the swing. This week, something clicked in practice, and I'm hitting my mark much more consistently. It's more than accuracy. accuracy is a fickle beast, if there's a lot of places for your swing to go wrong. It's simplification and efficiency. I had more places to screw up my swing. the more I simplify, the more consistent I get.

Last week, I adjusted my swing, but it felt wrong. Forced, somehow. Didn't matter: If my coach tells me to shotput the ball 30 feet down the lane (he didn't), then by George, that's what I'm going to do. However, after a week of practice, it started coming naturally. I fixed a handful of things last week. It's the most progress I've ever made all at once.

I'm letting go at the ankle, instead of 30 degrees past it - so I've reduced the room to introduce error significantly. My non-muscled backswing is as completely limp as I can manage, and is staying in a straight pendulum groove. This means the ball goes where I look. And it goes straight forward because the ball is going straight back. This makes the hook more predictable. I'm aiming now by lining up facing my breakpoint target, rather than by trying to throw the ball to a point in front of me. This has reduced arm wear to almost nothing, and has increased my power and revs.

No Arm + release at the ankle = more consistency, more power, more revs, more accuracy.