BowlingFans.com, The site for the fans, by the fans....
Sponsored Links

ChatBox:

Sponsored Links

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#144849 - 01/23/11 04:58 PM Please Critique this Bowling Newbie - Pics Inside
Johnny5 Offline
Bantam

A/S/L: Los Angeles, CA
Hi everyone, I've been bowling about once a week for two months now, and it's been about 2 weeks since I got my own bowling ball. I've also been lurking around the forum and doing a lot of reading but man...bowling is NOT easy!

Maybe you're be rolling your eyes when I say this, but yes as a noob the first thing I want to learn is to hook the ball with some consistency. But I'm still trying to respect the game by learning the fundamentals. But like I said it's not easy. It's so difficult to stay under the ball and execute a proper release. Before getting my own bowling ball and bowling straight, I was averaging about 135. Now with all the tutorials I've seen and read in trying to hook the ball, I average 90 lol.

With that said, could you help out this newbie and give me some pointers on my overall form and swing? I've pasted some still photos below with comments/questions to illustrate better.

Eyes over hand, chin over ball, right?

I just drop the ball to promote hinge vs push-away

Most articles I read state "elbow-in" all the time, is this?

I try to keep my wrist cocked throughout the swing. Should I hinge lower though? I totally lose concentration on my balance arm and never pay attention to it...

Arrrgh! So frustrating...almost impossible for me to keep it under the ball and I think I try to throw the ball like an underhand football, but way too early. It's almost like I'm dropping the ball (which you hear the double-thud in the video).