BowlingFans.com, The site for the fans, by the fans....
Sponsored Links

ChatBox:

Sponsored Links

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#14419 - 12/06/05 12:41 AM Help with hook
Alabama92 Offline
Bumper Bowler

A/S/L: 24/male/alabama
I'm sorry if this had been beaten to death on this forum but I need a little help with my hook. I tried to search the forum and found nothing. Okay here is my problem, I'm a newbie that has been bowling about 2 months now. Sometimes my ball takes a super hook right before the pins and goes way of the mark, does anyone have any tips for this? Another thing is I cannot be consistent with my bowling. Just the other day I was on fire and bowled a 247 my all time high and the first time I ever broke 200. Then the next games were like 107 and 124. Can anyone give me any tips on to the throw the same line consistently?

#10100 - 1 second ago Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links Online   content
Legend

A/S/L: Mountain View, CA
#14420 - 12/06/05 01:49 AM Re: Help with hook
Atochabsh Offline
USBC Bronze Coach

A/S/L: 50/F/California
On a house shot, if you throw it to the outside, especially early or short, it will hook a lot. So if you are missing your target to the outside that would explain it.

Also a ball thrown fast will hook less. If you let up on the speed it will hook more. If you are not very familiar with the variations in your ball speed that could explain it.

Now you combine the two above and you have pretty erradict ball reaction.

It takes a lot of practise and focus to repeatedly hit a target on the lane and while doing that, repeat the motion of your body that gets you to do it. YOu've been bowling 2 months. YOu can hardly expect anything. That you hit a 200+ game at all is amazing.

Start reading some of the books out there on bowling. There are a bunch of them. And they will begin to explain to you the more basic fundamentals of the game. YOu can also subscribe to Bowling This Month, which is also very helpful.