BowlingFans.com, The site for the fans, by the fans....
Sponsored Links

ChatBox:

Sponsored Links

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#133323 - 08/14/10 09:44 PM resurface spare ball and others
Southpaw22 Offline
Junior

A/S/L: 27/M/Fort Worth
I recently got a ball spinner and I have been playing around with different surfaces. I need some help from someone that is experienced in resurfacing balls.

1. Ebonite Maxim - I have had my maxim for about 5 years and I have never done anything to it before except for cleaning it. It has some hook in it that I want to get rid of. When I got the new ball spinner I applied a coat of polish to it and that did not change a thing. Is there a special polish that I can apply to get rid of the hook? Should I use a compound first and then apply polish? Please let me know how to handle this ball.

2. Ebonite Mission - Factory finish is Abralon 500, 1000, 2000, 2000. I wanted to try it a little stronger so I finished it at 500, 1000, 1000. The reaction on it became very odd. So, I took i tried to take it back to 2000 and now it reacts like it is a medium/dry lane ball with very little reaction. How can I get it back to OOB finish or to a better finish where it at least rolls normal.

Any help or experience with refinishing a Mission and spare ball would be great.

#10100 - 1 second ago Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links Online   content
Legend

A/S/L: Mountain View, CA
#133325 - 08/14/10 10:57 PM Re: resurface spare ball and others [Re: Southpaw22]
General Pounder Offline
3x Virtual League Champion

A/S/L: 40/M/Midlothian, IL
How many axis are you sanding the balls with? You should be doing 6.

If your Maxim has never had a resurface, you may want to do a full resurface. Start on your lowest grit and walk your way up to 4000. Then, polish it.

As for your Mission, what do you mean 500, 1000, 1000? Do you do all 6 axis at 500, then 1000 twice?

#133383 - 08/16/10 10:16 AM Re: resurface spare ball and others [Re: General Pounder]