BowlingFans.com, The site for the fans, by the fans....
Sponsored Links

ChatBox:

Sponsored Links

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#132193 - 07/25/10 11:32 AM Thoughts On This Style?
Ryan_W Offline
Bantam

A/S/L: AZ
I've been bowling competitively for about 10 years now. I started out out with the no-thumb release, then went to half thumb/Tom Smallwood style, to basically a style where I still have a partial thumb but don't really cradle anymore.
Just looking for any thoughts, criticism, or tips anyone might have for me.

Me Bowling

Edited by Ryan_W (07/25/10 11:33 AM)

#10100 - 1 second ago Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links Online   content
Legend

A/S/L: Mountain View, CA
#132194 - 07/25/10 12:10 PM Re: Thoughts On This Style? [Re: Ryan_W]
lakredrai Offline
Virtual League Champion

A/S/L: 45/male/vancouver, wa, usa
you are the first person I have seen that has even less backswing than me. what is your average ?
Columbia Freeze
Columbia White Dot

#132196 - 07/25/10 12:14 PM Re: Thoughts On This Style? [Re: lakredrai]
Ryan_W Offline
Bantam

currently 195

#132203 - 07/25/10 02:25 PM Re: Thoughts On This Style? [Re: Ryan_W]
CoachJim Offline
USBC Silver Coach

A/S/L: Reston, Virginia USA
Why are you using this type of grip? Do you think this is the only way you can hook the ball, or does the ball just not fit your hand properly? It seems to be killing your arm swing.

#132207 - 07/25/10 02:58 PM Re: Thoughts On This Style? [Re: CoachJim]
Ryan_W Offline
Bantam

The ball has been drilled for my hand and fits perfectly. When I insert my thumb all the way in the ball, it makes my back swing easier but I can't seem to get the right rotation on the ball and it doesn't hook. If I try hard to really lift the ball with my fingertips to put rotation on it, it really strains and hurts my wrist.

#132226 - 07/26/10 03:06 AM Re: Thoughts On This Style? [Re: Ryan_W]
TheDemolitionMan Offline
Virtual League Champion

A/S/L: 23/Male/California, US