BowlingFans.com, The site for the fans, by the fans....
Sponsored Links

ChatBox:

Sponsored Links

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#119210 - 02/23/10 10:04 AM Carry Down and Heavy Oil
Hooker Offline
Bracket Donor

A/S/L: 32/M/Canton/Ludington/MI
I am a newbie still and learning as I go.....I have a couple of questions for you seasoned pros....

Carry down??? What or how is the best way to adjust to carry down??

The 2 leagues I bowl in very rarely see any type of heavy oil and normally the carrydown is easy to deal with. I bowled in a tourny on Friday and experienced the heaviest oil I have ever bowled on and the carry down just baffled me. Not only do I not own a heavy oil ball yet, but every adjustment I tried to make didn't work. I ended up basically moving all the way over to the last dot on the right of the approach and pretty much just chucked my ball with as much speed as I could and as straight as I could to get to the pocket....but we all know what happened by throwing that way.....no carry what so ever... Any other way I bowled, trying to hook it into the pocket, the ball would just sail away, no matter if I adjusted speed or revs, the same result...

Would a heavy oil ball have made a huge difference for me in that situtaion?

Also, how often do you guys come across heavily oiled lanes?

Current
AVG: 203 161
LHG: 249 167
LHS: 610 484

Book Avg: 171 (2010/11)
Career HG: 258 USBC
Career HS: 629 USBC
Year began bowling: Fall 2008

Storm HyRoad
Storm Street Rod Pearl
Storm Tropical Storm
Columbia 300 WD

#10100 - 1 second ago Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links Online   content
Legend

A/S/L: Mountain View, CA
#119225 - 02/23/10 11:17 AM Re: Carry Down and Heavy Oil [Re: Hooker]
Handful Offline
High Roller

A/S/L: 32/male/St Pete, FL/ usa