BowlingFans.com, The site for the fans, by the fans....
Sponsored Links

ChatBox:

Sponsored Links

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#10986 - 11/23/03 01:23 PM Help with release
BossMoss Offline
Bantam

A/S/L: 40 Male Western Ney York
Hi Folks I am new to the forum & am hopeing to get some advise to improve my game & my Sons game. My son is going on 16 & loves bowling we need tips on helping him stop pinching the ball. I know he pinching it as sometime he can't hook it at all other times he has a nice hook. All the coaches on his Sat. bowling say his basics are good but we just can't get his average much above 155. He is on the school team and his practic ave. is about 170 league play starts Mon.& am sure ave. will go down. What books or tape are must have? A little back ground on me I am a Golf Pro so I know how important the grip is. I haven't bowled in a league in a long time but used to average 180 - 190. I have been bowling with my son the last couple of years & am siill able to matain that. He has yet to beat me for a series yet. Any tips and drills on release and armswing would a big help as I know no drills for bowling just golf. Thanks looking foward to your help

#10100 - 1 second ago Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links Online   content
Legend

A/S/L: Mountain View, CA
#10987 - 11/24/03 10:10 AM Re: Help with release
DTB300 Offline
Bracket Donor

A/S/L: Ageless/M/MD
Squeezing the ball can be MANY things. Large thumb hole, muscling, timing, proper use of tape, etc.

Since you are in Western NY, have you checked out the coaching offered by the Pro Shop at Thruway Lanes? I have heard some good things about them from a couple of people. It has been almost a year since I was at the lanes, and hopefully they still offer the lessons. I am originally from that area and have bowled at Thruway when in town for a visit.

Instead of guessing, see a good coach and get it straightened out now.

Thanks,
Dan

Formula for Improving your Bowling....