BowlingFans.com, The site for the fans, by the fans....
Sponsored Links

ChatBox:

Sponsored Links

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#105362 - 10/15/09 07:21 AM Another full roller question
ocydroma Offline
Junior Master

A/S/L: 41/f/GA
I've looked in the archives and found a couple posts about full rollers but they really didn't answer my questions. Is the way a full roller is defined by the Track only? Are there other defining things? It seems as though full rollers are frowned upon. The posts I did find, the majority of people suggested changing to a 3/4 roller or semi roller. What is so bad a bout being a full roller.

The reason I ask is the Track crosses the finger(s) and thumb and the full circumfrence of my balls. So am I a full roller?

Also I have no idea how my balls are drilled, I'm new to bowling so I never new it was important to know until I found this list.I just trusted the driller at the Pro Shop. If you are a full roller and your balls aren't drilled for a full roller could that be the reason I'm not getting ball reaction like the specs from the manufacturer says I should get?

Sorry for rambling but just trying to learn.

#10100 - 1 second ago Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links Online   content
Legend

A/S/L: Mountain View, CA
#105377 - 10/15/09 10:35 AM Re: Another full roller question [Re: ocydroma]
10PinGaloot Offline
Legend

A/S/L: 65/m/ Woodburn, OR
Full rollers are not frowned upon. It's your score that counts, not how you get it. Straight shots just don't work as well as a hook.

A little side roll enlarges the pocket so you have more forgiveness. Plus hookers can use the oil to their advantage.

To get maximum pins flying around with a straight shot, hit in the pocket but high on the head pin. You have one advantage over a hooker - you can throw from left or right or straight down the middle, and still get good results.