BowlingFans.com, The site for the fans, by the fans....
Sponsored Links

ChatBox:

Sponsored Links

Page 5 of 5 < 1 2 3 4 5
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#104724 - 10/07/09 02:27 PM Re: There you go! [Re: Tim Gerard]
TheDemolitionMan Offline
Virtual League Champion

A/S/L: 23/Male/California, US
I was an ESL tutor for a little while, although I have no idea why. It must've been my extreme and exquisite skill with the english language seeingstars, because [email protected] sure don't speak another language. I understand its importance and do agree with a majority of what is being said. However, one thing I noticed is that the kids have to want to learn. A good bit of them hardly tried, and I'm not talking about the new students who hardly knew any of the language. I was more like a drill sergent or jail warden killing the party than anything else.
Be like water making its way through cracks. Don't be assertive, but adjust to the object, and you shall find a way around or through it. If nothing within you stays rigid, outward things will disclose themselves.

#10100 - 1 second ago Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links Online   content
Legend

A/S/L: Mountain View, CA
#104727 - 10/07/09 02:51 PM Re: There you go! [Re: Tim Gerard]
Atochabsh Offline
USBC Bronze Coach

A/S/L: 50/F/California
I don't think its necessarily the non English speaking kids bringing down the test score, but rather they are taking time away from English speaking kids in the classroom. Therefore English speaking kids are not getting as good an education as they could given more attention from the teachers. There should be more teachers devoted to teaching the non English speaking kids maybe even seperate schools until they can competantly be integrated with the English speaking kids. I know its easier for kids to pick up a language then adults.

Erin

#104729 - 10/07/09 03:12 PM Re: There you go! [Re: Atochabsh]
sharnothegreat Offline
Bracket Donor

A/S/L: 25/m/FL